Free the Darkness by Kel Kade

Title: Free the Darkness   Author: Kel Kade   Series: King’s Dark Tidings   Genre: YA, Fantasy   Rating: Five Stars

 

I’m so excited about this book. Because all my research about this book pointed to this being a self published title I was surprised to find that I liked it. Normally I find self published novels to be amateur both in plot and execution. Now I’ll admit I actually listened to this on Audible so I’m not sure about linking words, spelling and punctuation as the narrator did such a good job of conveying the story seamlessly. His many accents for each character and realistic narration made it easy for me to enjoy. 

I was hooked from the start. Kel Kade opens with a small back story and then immediately jumps into the action and that set up the bar for the rest of the novel. We were given snippets of information about the character at the start which was effective but also slightly annoying as I found that I wanted just a touch more. We hardly found out anything about Rezkin other than his relentless and rigorous training until perhaps one third of the way through the book. As such there wasn’t much character depth as I would normally like until further through the book. But this was countered by very realistic character flaws in the ‘perfect’ warrior. 

Kade made his protagonist perfect, trained since infancy to be a weapon and this was achieved by being raised in a fort with little to no outside influence so when Rezkin had to travel to what he refers to as the ‘out world’ he was taken aback by the differences. He had believed that every ‘little man’ was raised the same as him, learning ‘the rules’ of life and mastering his skills. He was in a sense naive about how out worlder’s live. I’ll give you two examples that I just loved I can’t quote as I don’t have a book to reflect on and it would just take too long for me to find the right spots but I’ll do my best to convey the scene.

  1. The little men and woman running around after a ball in a frenzy. He was sure they were not adhering to any of the rules. He was hesitant to turn his back on them not because he felt they were a threat but because they could fall into an unpredictable frenzy.

    I just couldn’t contain my giggles at this.

  2. He wasn’t sure who was in charge of allocating his friends but he was going to have to thank them for choosing so well in Tam and Frisha. (again no book to refer to so I’m not sure how to spell names.) and again, he was going to have to talk with Frisha who he believed was the head of his friends to see if Jimson could be counted as a friend also.

    I just adored this. Despite being unbeatable these are just two of the examples that Kade dropped into the story that made Rezkin relatable and vulnerable.

There was so much action in this book and so many secrets that I think I kept reading/listening to see if the next page would reveal the mystery. 

I think Rezkin was a great character, yes he’s perhaps too infallible but I really didn’t mind that. Look at Sarah J. Maas and her Throne of Glass series, Celaena is very much the same the only difference between the two for me is their genders.

The one thing that I perhaps should have deducted a point off for was that every woman did swoon perhaps a little to much over Rezkin. We know he’s unusually handsome but I doubt that every woman would be so weak as to throw themselves at him all the time. I’m not exaggerating, every female in the story was literally offering sex except perhaps Frisha.

Speaking of Frisha, I like her but I think she’s portrayed a little bratty for a commoner. She is prone to throwing tantrums and making issues out of things and she does so publicly instead of behind closed doors. But I do like how honest she is and her brotherly relationship with Tam is nice.

There are still so many questions left unanswered in this novel that I know I’ll just have to read on. I WANT TO KNOW WHAT ON EARTH IS HAPPENING.

I really do believe this story has the potential to be more than a three book trilogy and I don’t think anyone would mind that!

That’s about as much as I can write about this without going into spoiler territory.

 

If you did enjoy this review, please do remember to give it a star and don’t forget to hit follow if you’d like to keep updated for when I post new rambling blogs!

I also have a YouTube  channel if you’d like to check it out because of course, every little bit helps!

Thank you for reading!

Till next time,

xoxo Book Dragon Ash

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

