Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

Book Review : Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

 

Title : Glass Sword

Author : Victoria Aveyard

Genre : YA, Fantasy, Dystopian

Rating : 5 Stars

glasssword-hc-c

Before I review the book, I have to review the cover. Like, I need to voice my frustrations even if it’s just to know I am not alone. 

I need to VENT.

So book one was called Red Queen and it had a beautiful three colour scheme which I blubbered on about in my vlog review but will rehash here – the colour scheme beautifully matched the concepts that were explored throughout the book, red and silver for the blood which divides this world. The crown on this cover MADE SENSE, after all, it is called Red Queen.

Book two is called Glass Sword and the cover has another crown of a larger size and more elaborate and yes, its glass BUT the title of the book is Glass Sword! Why is the cover not of a glass sword for heaven’s sake. I suppose you could say the front point of the crown could symbolise a sword – it kinda looks like a sword that’s within the crown – but still, it’s been grating on me since I bought the book. I honestly thought I’d ordered the wrong book or edition or something.

I’m not even kidding, every time I picked this book up and put it back down again, I had to turn the cover upside-down so I didn’t see it. Yes, I know, I have issues. I’m working on it but right now, I just can’t move past this!

Okay, now onto the book.

If your after a none spoilery review, I suggest you leave now. You see, I’m not very good at secrets so if you haven’t read this book yet – toodaloo!

OKAY, big big sigh of relief here after finishing this book. I didn’t realise just how shattered I was over the ending of Red Queen until I started this book. I forced myself to read until I reached a point where I could finally rest easy knowing things would be okay

And when I say okay I mean, as well as things can get considering they’re caught up in a full-blown revolution.

In my vlog I mentioned how harsh I think Mare Barrow is on Cal. I really stand by this decision. In book one, Cal gave her money for trying to steal from him, then gave her a job, protected her secret and treated her the same as any other silver even knowing she was a red. The arena scene just supported all my thoughts about Cal. In book two, Cal followed her into enemy territory, at first forced yes, but in the end it was his decision so 😛 No one can tell me he’s a bad guy! Please, don’t even try me.

I was so relieved to see Mare and Cal slowly reconnect and mend their relationship. But I still felt like there wasn’t enough emotion built into their connection, not enough acknowledgement given to them on their status or meaning to each other which I believe might have been intentional but I felt like it was short-changing them, ripping them off so to speak. I felt like they deserved a break and that one person, to connect and tether them to some form of normality. In the final chapter we did get that validation, thank heavens and I got more than what I asked for. She admitted her feelings towards Cal, even if only to herself. I needed that scene to happen, if that scene didn’t happen I just don’t know if I would have still rated this a five.

I don’t know about you, but can I just say I don’t understand why people have to die all the time for my entertainment! Okay, no I do understand I really do, I just wish authors would stop killing my favs and start killing off the annoying characters or something. Like, do me a favor and come up with some other idea to keep me interested and entertained, I really don’t need people to die for my pleasure….maybe that’s a lie but I’d rather Shade not be gone. 

Victoria, this is a call out to you. Recon you could bring him back to life for me somehow?

I liked Shade and I was NOT expecting his death. I’ve just realised a running theme I’m feeling in this book, I feel bad for everyone, the characters, they’re all getting ripped off. Shade dies saving his sister over something as simple as bad timing and I’ma take a guess and say – close your eyes or move past this sentence if you don’t want any predictions because I’ma go ahead and spoil something I see coming in book three – I’m pretty sure Farley is pregnant.

WHAT ON EARTH. We just got Shade back, how can you give him back and take him away all in the space of 444 pages?! And not even let him meet his baby!

Moving onto Maven. Whoa, where do I even start? What the heck is up with this psycho? I begrudgingly loved Maven in book one, I didn’t want to like him, but we heard and saw so much about him that he kinda grew on me, so his betrayal was a real slap in the face. I really should have known better, it’s happened hundreds of times in books I should have seen it coming but this time I really didn’t. SO, the ending of book one had me falling out my chair in shock and this book had me hurling food from the sidelines. He is very sick and twisted. He needs help, or a bullet. I can’t believe how quickly and dramatically he changed and the notes he leaves for Mare are kinda creepy don’t you think?

I also think it’s sad that Mare still misses the Maven she knew and holds onto those notes like a lifeline or most likely to serve as a reminder that he is evil. It’s really quite heartbreaking to see just how messed up both Mare and Cal have become mentally, not just from the arena and the safe room, but from the notes and messages he leaves behind. And when I say notes and messages I mean both the unspoken messages he sends every time he gets a newblood and the notes he leaves.

I have a confession, is it bad that I’m sort of excited to see more of Maven again in book three? I know he’s evil and done bad things but I can’t wait to see how Mare cope and perhaps I have the same issue’s as Mare and Cal, because I think I miss him too. But that last scene…..

images-1

I think the newblood talent that they have recruited is pretty diverse and their skills seem to be more unique than the talents of the silvers. Reds seem to get whatever the get but Silvers have been mentioned to only get the fathers magical ability, so I think that creates a very big advantage to the newbloods. They have variety and opportunity whereas silvers are more stagnant and bound.

It is safe to say, these are only a few of my rambling thoughts. I’m sure if I’d been a good blogger, I would have taken some more notes. But alas, perhaps next time.

If you did enjoy this review, please do remember to give it a star and don’t forget to hit follow if you’d like to keep updated for when I post new rambling blogs!

I also have a YouTube  channel if you’d like to check it out because of course, every little bit helps!

Thank you for reading!

Till next time,

xoxo Book Dragon Ash

 

7 thoughts on “Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

  1. I don’t know what it was with this book but the entire time I just had to put it down in frustration and then picked it back up because I just needed to know how it continued! I don’t even recall what it was about this book that annoyed me that much, maybe it was Mare…
    I agree on that cover! I’ve never thought about it before, but a sword does make much more sense😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You know what, I had a similar problem except I had to force myself to keep reading until I was happy with where we were at! I think Mare was annoying in this book, perhaps I should have said that more, she was a bit selfish and reclusive and annoying! And I just feel like she needs to give Cal more credit!

      Oh that cover. My gosh. I just don’t understand!!! It’s Glass Sword, not Glass Crown! ha ha

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes she was quite annoying, I hope that she changes in the next book!
        I think the third book also has a crown on its cover, so I guess they want to keep it consistent 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I don’t really mind them being a little different, because usually money wise I can’t afford to buy all books matching. However it would be nice if they were all the same, especially the same size!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

