Lady Midnight By Cassandra Clare

Book Review : Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

Review by BookBonanzaReviews

 

lm_cover
Title :
Lady Midnight

Author : Cassandra Clare

Genre : YA, Fantasy.

Rating : 5 Stars

Okay, Okay, Okay. WHOA.

I had a feeling we were going to see more of Emma Carstairs and Julian Blackthorn when they were mentioned in the The City of Heavenly Fire Battle (was it that battle? You know the one between Sebastian and his evil shadow hunters?) Well anyway, when she mentioned them I guessed she wanted to do a series on these two characters because she lingered on them for a bit and got me curious to know more about them. You could imagine my delight when she brought out Lady Midnight!

Thank you Cassandra, Thank you.

I loved this book and the many characters points of view she told this from. I don’t
normally enjoy books narrated from multiple character perspectives but this surprised me. She effortlessly wove from one character to another providing you with a thorough depiction of what is happening to each character throughout the book.

I knew the story would follow Emma and Julian and as much as I liked Julian, I wasn’t expect to like Mark as much as I did! Contrary to who the majority of you might have been pining for I actually was pining for Mark the whole book. I knew Julian had responsibilities and I liked his character but I liked how Emma was reckless with Mark and a little daring and I felt that they had a sort of unspoken understanding of each other so I was pleasantly surprised at the end of the novel to read their last scene and was thoroughly disappointed when there weren’t any more pages to turn! I wanted MORE!!!

I was disappointed when Malcolm’s betrayal was revealed because I really enjoyed his quirky character and felt for his backstory. But it definitely created an intriguing twist!

So no surprises here when I say I am eagerly looking forward to the next installment of this series and can’t wait to see how she develops the story between Mark and Cristina and Emma and Julian and their interwoven love triangle.

xoxo Book Dragon Ash

Leave a Reply

